Several people in your organization will likely use Folks ATS. The first person to receive access will need to add the other users, with one of the two available licences.
- The Recruiter licence, which provides full access to the platform
- The Manager licence, with more limited access restricted to the accounts assigned to them (see Manager User - Logging in and Introduction to Folks ATS)
Choosing the licence type
Before giving your team access to the ATS, define the level of autonomy you wish to grant.
For a manager, do you want to offer read-only access (the Manager licence) or allow them to manage their recruiting independently (the Recruiter licence with customized permissions)? Your answer will allow you to grant access suited to your organization’s needs.
Two manager profiles
The Manager licence is suitable for a manager who is not very involved in the process, while the Recruiter licence is suitable for an actively involved manager, with permissions that can be adjusted according to your needs.
| Feature | Manager licence |
Manager with a Recruiter licence and customized permissions |
| Access only to their own jobs | ✅ |
✅ |
| Access to candidates who applied for these jobs | ✅ |
✅ |
| Viewing résumés and cover letters | ✅ |
✅ |
| Adding notes to the profile of a candidate in the process | ✅ |
✅ |
Adding notes to processes |
No |
✅ |
| Mentioning a recruiter in a note (using @) | ✅ |
✅ |
| Email invitation to participate in an interview (receiving an email notification) |
✅ |
✅ |
Opening a job for their department |
No |
✅ (recruiter approval possible) |
Sending emails to candidates |
No |
✅ |
Independently scheduling interviews |
No |
✅ |
Access to interview forms (notes, templates) |
No |
✅ |
Moving a candidate through the process (e.g., 1st → 2nd interview) |
No |
✅ |
Adding candidates to the ATS database |
No |
✅ |
Adding a user (Recruiter licence)
This role is suitable for a recruiter or a manager who is very involved in recruiting, but can also be assigned to a member of management, an external HR consultant, an intern or any other employee requiring broader access.
- In the main menu, click Settings > Users > User list tab.
- To add a user, click the Add a user icon at the top right of the list.
- In the window that opens, complete the required information: the user’s name, email address and a temporary password. You can then send the temporary password to your colleague for their first login.
⚠️Attention: Write it down somewhere, as it will not be saved for security reasons. When logging in for the first time, the user will have to change their password. If desired, you can enable two-factor authentication and SSO for the user. - You can also add other information, such as permissions, a title, a photo and access options (Recruiter, Approve and See all positions). If you are creating the user for a manager, see the section Recommended configuration for a manager with customized permissions.
- Permissions - These correspond to the access groups previously created under roles and permissions and are used to give users different levels of access.
- See all positions - Allows the user to see all jobs displayed in the ATS. If the option is not enabled, the user will not see any jobs UNLESS they have been added to the job’s recruiter team; in that case, they will see only the jobs for which they are a recruiter.
- When you are finished, click Validate. The user will appear in the list.
Once the user has been added, the following actions are available: Edit, Change access, Access time (Enable / disable), View as (View permissions in the profile) and Licence (Enable / disable).
When you edit a user’s access and add one or more Clients accessible only, the See all positions option allows them to see all jobs for this client displayed in the ATS.
Remember to send the login credentials to the user so that they can log in for the first time and change their password.
Manager with customized permissions - recommended configuration
When creating the user, leave the Permissions field empty and select the Recruiter option. Then go to the roles and permissions page to add an access group. Select the following access options.
- Category Settings > Users > Access
- Category Forms > Interview forms > See interview forms
- Category Recruiting > Candidates
- Add a candidate
- Search for a candidate
- Search CV
- Candidate details
- Category Recruiting > Requests
- Temporary order
- Request search
- Request details
- Add candidate
- Change candidate status
- List of my candidates
Then add this group as a permission in the user’s edit window.
Tip: Test your access to verify that the permissions meet your needs and adjust them as needed. For more information, see Detailed explanations of Folks ATS permissions.
Adding a manager
This role is suitable for a manager who is involved in the process but has a restricted level of autonomy. It is not possible to add permissions for them.
- In the main menu, click Settings > Users.
- On the user and manager management page, click List of managers.
- To add a manager, click the Adding a manager icon at the top right of the list.
Attention! In Folks ATS, the term manager is used both to describe a manager-type user and the person responsible for a client in the CRM (Companies section). These are two completely different types of access (see Creating clients and managers).
- In the window that opens, complete the required information: the user’s name, email address and a temporary password. You can then send the temporary password to your colleague for their first login.
Attention! Make sure to remember it, as it will not be saved for security reasons. When logging in for the first time, the user will have to change their password. If desired, you can enable two-factor authentication and SSO for the user.
- In the Accessible clients field, you can choose the clients whose jobs the manager will be able to see.
- If you want the manager to be able to create jobs to be filled, enable the Create request option. You can add recruiter approval if needed under Settings > Jobs.
- Enable the See all positions option if you want the manager to see all jobs for the selected client or clients, even if they are not part of the recruiter team, or all jobs for all clients if no client was selected above. If the See all positions option is not enabled, the manager must be added to the recruiter team for the job in order to see that job.
- When you are finished, click Validate. The user will appear in the list.
One possible interaction for the manager is to view the profile, documents and additional information of candidates presented in the details of a job.
Tip: Share our introduction guide with your managers to help them get familiar with the platform.
To hide documents from the manager, disable the Default document sharing option in the configuration dashboard > System. To share only certain documents, enable the sharing option in the documents of the presented candidate (the Documents icon) by clicking the Toggle sharing icon under the Actions column.